West Germany

West Germany

Known formally as the Federal Republic of Germany, or FDR, this state was established in 1949 in the area occupied by the U.K., U.S., France, and other Western-allied armies at the end of World War II.

West Berlin was physically separated from FDR by the Berlin Wall beginning in 1961. The wall was taken down in 1989.

East Germany was dissolved in 1990 and joined FDR as part of  unified Germany.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.